VTOL

jnj01

Jun 18, 2017
Norway
So far the only method I've found for vertical take-off and landing, is rotors for thrust upwards and a whole lot of 5-way steering boosters for propulsion. This isn't very efficient at all for slightly larger techs, and I think some sort of VTOL function would be nice. Either propellars with the ability to turn 90 degrees or the ability to only power certain propellars at once.

HAL

Oct 7, 2016
Hokkaido, Japan
www.halnico.com
I am not very good at English. I apologize if there are any mistakes in my English writing.

I wish I could find one just like the V-22 Osprey's propeller.
But, we can already build VTOL-tech with shift blocks and Venture SMGs.
VTOL Flying Wing 2.png
↑Press space-key to go up. Press shift-key move on.

↓Press shift-key to go up. Press Space-key move on.
VTOL Flying Wing 1.png

↓I built the tech resembling AV-8 harrierⅡ. It doesn't have a very nice appearance, but it can fly.
AV 8B.png

Reactions: Masakari

Masakari

Nov 2, 2016
The problem is we don't have proper controls/hotkeys for techs. Once we get that update (whenever that will be) expect to see more and more VTOLs.

The only solutions I have found for now are either an MT (multi-tech) that uses the hover bug (primary tech has the hover(s) and secondary tech has the wheel(s) that push against the hover(s) to switch between the two modes. Rather difficult to make it so they can shift modes easily and on the fly when you want, at least for my old designs but probably could work out a better system now) or for a single tech using a resource chunk on a conveyor line with a hover pad.

@HAL The problem with that type of movement is you can't fight with it. You can use an MT to get a V-22 Osprey like tech but takes a bit of work to make with balancing. They also have a block that's hidden/unused that seems to be a rotating engine/prop but needs work.

Reactions: Gayvid`

Mindlessmrawesome

Jul 1, 2016