[v1.0] F5 Crash

BlackSun

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2015
Messages
21
Likes
8
Points
405
#1
Well, just as the name suggests. Hit F5 for insta-crash. Fun! Works anytime, anywhere. Even on loading screens while launching the game!

And, when you do it within an actual mode, it suggests sending the crash report, which I did.
Just save your game first if you have unsaved progress...

Now, does "anchor tech" come with a secret hotkey to press, or do I absolutely have to click it with the mouse...? Would like to use these to "park" my techs so they don't skid away.
 
Likes: ZeroGravitas

ZeroGravitas

Breaker of Games
Joined
Jun 29, 2017
Messages
3,051
Likes
3,843
Points
675
Age
36
Location
UK
Website
www.youtube.com
#2
Hit F5 for insta-crash.
For me this just brings up the Steam overlay to select a friend to invite.

Are you on PC with the Steam version too?

Have you got steam overlay enabled/disabled? (Doesn't crash for me when disabled, either.)

Are your GPU drivers (in particular) up to date? Windows updates too?

Tried verifying the game cache, through Steam? Or uninstall, reinstall?

Can you upload you output_log.txt file too (although if the devs know which in-game bug report you sent that might be just as good).

Thanks for the report.
 
Likes: Legionite

BlackSun

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2015
Messages
21
Likes
8
Points
405
#3
Ah. It's probably fine, only affects the GoG Version I think. That steam stuff got removed from the game, but the key is still mapped, evidently. Install is fresh and intact, happens on two Win7 systems. The game seems to expect Steam API to be available for F5 or something, I guess.
 
Likes: ZeroGravitas

kae

PAYLOAD STUDIOS
Joined
Mar 7, 2018
Messages
435
Likes
542
Points
205
#4
Heya BlackSun, thanks for letting us know about this!

F5 is bound to the steam 'invite a player' menu which isn't correctly disabled in the GOG version like you say and causes the game to crash, unfortunately we're no longer supporting GOG updates, but I'll see what we can do about getting a bug fix patch for this issue.

Cheers!
 

BlackSun

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2015
Messages
21
Likes
8
Points
405
#5
(...) unfortunately we're no longer supporting GOG updates, but I'll see what we can do about getting a bug fix patch for this issue.
Woah woah, waitwhat?

What exactly does that mean? Just no active support for bugs, but still updates and the multiplayer-less version with all content...
Or literally, nothing further than the current version, no new content, ever?
The Steamless Humble-Release, too...?

And, one thing in particular - I'm playing on the "Super Ultra Wide" monitor from Samsung (3840 x 1080), can I expect the GUI patch for wider resolutions to come over to GoG once that's done? Or am I stuck with blinders left and right, forever?
 
Last edited:
Likes: ZeroGravitas

Matt

PAYLOAD STUDIOS
Joined
Jul 23, 2018
Messages
177
Likes
765
Points
200
Age
30
#6
Hey @BlackSun,

So GOG made this announcement on their forum which explains the decision to remove TerraTech from the GOG store.

Essentially there will be no further GOG updates post 1.0 aside from important bug fixes, such as the one you've mentioned in this thread.