Graphics options: Fantastic -> Fastest -> I just want 60 FPS

Would you install a mod called "I just want 60 FPS"?

• Yes, I don't care as long as I can tell the resource types apart

Votes: 3 60.0%
  • Maybe, I want better FPS but I don't want to look at nothing but cubes

Votes: 1 20.0%
  • No, keep the same quality as it is now, just optimize it

Votes: 1 20.0%
  • No, I want graphics that I can't tell apart from real life even if it's at 1 frame per minute

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

DoomDude

To start, I'm the kind of gamer who cares very little about how nice the graphics are in a game. To me, game design and play-ability are 100 times more important. In sandbox games, I prefer to have giant bases that can do lots of everything, but I'm limited in terra tech by FPS lag. If there was a graphics option called "Ultra faster than fastest but looks like garbage", I'd use it.

If I was a dev, or if I was to make a mod called "I just want 60 FPS" here is kind of how it would look in the game.

Adjustable auto save:
From my own experience and watching other people's videos, I'd guess the current auto save causes that fps stutter every 5 seconds or so, in particular when near your base with lots of blocks to save. More advanced options would include not auto saving while in the middle of combat.

Simple models for resources and bullets:
They are just resources and bullets, I wouldn't really care if every single one of them was a 2D image that rotated to always face you, they do the same thing in another more popular sandbox game. Yes, I'm aware that the devs are apparently overhauling the resource handling system.

What's with all the fancy explosions:
Whenever a gun shoots, whenever a bullet hits a shield or block, there's always a lovely little 3D explosion. I'd turn them into nice little 2D sprite that always faces the player.

GSO may like their blocks curvy, but I dont: