[8.2] Weird problem {NaNMPH NanFT}

Discussion in 'Bugs (Stable Only)' started by Gayvid`, Jul 6, 2018.

1. Gayvid`

Gayvid` Yes, I'm a well-known member

I swear to god, every single problem ends up in NaNMPH NanFT. So I got this massive plane off the steam workshop and use it, I was on purposely trying to break it, meanwhile missiles from the enemy slide right in the backend on the plane. I get NanMPH NanFT, This is always the error that occurs when I'm experiencing a bug.

I lost the crash report

JimmyBlether likes this.
  2. Lost Ninja

Lost Ninja Well-Known Member

What does that mean?

3. JimmyBlether

JimmyBlether SFS SUPREME COMMANDER (on roleplay holiday)

Basically Not a Number (NaN) speed/ height. I'm no coder. Is this right @Sdarks? You're a coder, correct?

ZeroGravitas likes this.
  4. ZeroGravitas

ZeroGravitas Breaker of Games

The error tends to happen when there is tech intersection and one block is inserted to (perfectly) overlap another, causing the collision physics calculation to divide by zero and get a nonsense result for the resultant knock-back speed (or something along those lines).

I edited some more information into the title future reference, in "{}".

Lord Zarnox likes this.
  5. Zorgomol

Zorgomol Well-Known Member

There are just a few situations where NaNs pop up in ordinary floating point math. Most common is divide zero by zero, which in physics is often in trying to normalize a zero length vector. Other cases I can remember offhand are infinity minus infinity (and sign-variation equivalents, since +inf and -inf are distinct) and infinity divided by infinity. Infinity divided by zero is still infinity, though.