[1.0.1][PC] Unity causing BSOD only in TerraTech

Discussion in 'TT Stable & Console Bugs' started by jpchilensky, Nov 2, 2018.

1. jpchilensky

jpchilensky Member

I started playing TerraTech again after a year or so away. Every time I play I get a BDOD. Sometimes it's within 10 minutes, sometimes hours. I've been trying to track down the culprit and here is what I've tested so far.

1. Just prior to reinstalling TerraTech my video card updated. I rolled back to an older version of the driver and the problem persists.

2. I checked the case for dust and gave everything a healthy breath of canned air.

3. I verified the game files via Steam

4. I used Speccy to keep an eye on the temp sensors and all looks normal

5. I've enabled the full memory dumps and have viewed the contents with Who Crashed. This is what I found:

On Sat 10/27/2018 8:26:35 PM your computer crashed or a problem was reported
    crash dump file: C:\WINDOWS\MEMORY.DMP
    This was probably caused by the following module: unityplayer.sys (UnityPlayer+0x39D30F)
    Bugcheck code: 0x124 (0x0, 0xFFFFC002E786C028, 0xB60AC000, 0x135)
    Error: WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR
    Bug check description: This bug check indicates that a fatal hardware error has occurred. This bug check uses the error data that is provided by the Windows Hardware Error Architecture (WHEA).
    This is likely to be caused by a hardware problem.
    A third party driver was identified as the probable root cause of this system error. It is suggested you look for an update for the following driver: unityplayer.sys .
    Google query: unityplayer.sys WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR

As instructed by Who Crashed I googled "unityplayer.sys WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR" and found nothing. I'm currently downloading Unity itself, but I don't expect this to help. ----Update: It did not help

I'm running a relatively fresh install (~7 months old) of Windows 10 on a machine with these stats:

Phenom II X6 1090T
    Radeon 550 4gb
    8gb RAM